Glass Anchors

GLASS ANCHORS  // Glass Anchors EP  (CAPE SHOK CSR002)

Honing her songs in various bands over various years, soaring songstress Annie Sicherman brings us GLASS ANCHORS.   The songs on her fledgling EP are plaintive, reflective, honest, and good. GLASS ANCHORS sounds best tearing up road (preferably dirt), the one to oblivion – right after you ended the longest relationship you ever had, the one you thought would last, the one with the proposal. That road can be in your head, but certainly GLASS ANCHORS has the ability to take you there every time… with Glass Anchors, we have the real Annie 3000%, no matter what road you’re on.Playing one of her first shows with the new band, to a large-enough crowd at the 2011 CMJ Festival (as part of veteran New York City tastemaker venue Cake Shop’s annual showcase of hand-picked favorites), was an important trial-by-fire moment. It was described in the Feast of Music blog as “twangy folk rock, led by the surprisingly overpowering Annie Sicherman. A welcome break from the electropop.” Glass Anchors currently plays regularly at NYC venues such as Cake Shop, Union Hall, Pete’s Candy Store, Bruar Falls (RIP), & Public Assembly.The current lineup consists of seasoned NYC musicians Kenny Wachtel (Great Lakes, Heavy Creatures), bassist Julian McCarron (Le Boum) and drummer Cale Hand (The Occasional Heat).

Glass Anchors’ self-titled debut features an impressive backing band, including drummer Ben Lord (Sharon Van Etten, Kilowatthours, Phantom Family Halo) guitarist Kenny Wachtel and bassist Dan Hewins (Up the Empire, Kilowatthours). The heartbreaking track ‘Who’s the Fool’ features a duet with Christian DeRoeck (Woods, Little Gold, Meneguar). Also making appearances are Lauren Balthrop (Balthrop, Alabama), Josh Kauffman (The National, Balthrop, Alabama, Caithlin de Marrais of Rainer Maria) and David Gould (The Inner Banks).

Tracks were recorded with Steve Salett at Saltland Studios (The NationalJustin Townes Earle andCaithlin de Marrais of Rainer Maria). Additional recording was done at Soundbridge Studio with Dana Dopazo and David Gould. Mastered at Salt Mastering with Paul Gold (Grizzly Bear, Animal Collective, Sufjian Stevens, Dirty Projectors).

DEBUT EP // FEB 2012

1. Our Last Words
2. Sparrow
3. Surprise
4. Happy Til I Die
5. Silence
6. Winter Home
7. Who’s the Fool


To have a listen, please go to GLASSANCHORS.COM.

To Buy The Glass Anchors CD check out the capeshok store

RIYL: Laura Marling, Air Waves, Gillian Welch, Ryan Adams, Lucinda Williams, Deer Tick, Jennifer O’Connor, Neil, Joni, etc.

follow on FACEBOOK


Leave a Reply